comments 2

….. blimey it's brass monkeys!!!

 

sunrise over the beagle channel

sunrise over the beagle channel

…..so arriving in Ushuaia it was freezing cold, blustery wind, pissing with rain, foggy and quite frankly rather miserable and my first thoughts were ‘oh my god what am I going to do here for the next three days….’ closely followed by…’shit, my clothes aren’t up to this…’ the truth is packing for this trip was a nightmare because the weather is so different from north to south, and I thought i’d got it more or less right by bringing lots of layers, but judging by the fact that i look like a Michelin man but my arse is still frozen, i still have a lot to learn….. the good thing about Ushuaia is that its full of shops selling ‘technical’ clothes that rustle when you walk… I think the more they rustle the better and more expensive they are… so I’m off later to find some techno trousers which do a slightly better job than the ridiculously expensive ‘all weather’ (so long as you live somewhere warm and dry) ones that I bought before leaving madrid.


…. thankfully not long after I arrived the sky cleared long enough for me to wander into town and get my bearings… it’s a bizzarre little outpost with some very twee little buildings and people who drive VERY FAST which is really bizarre because there is pretty much nowhere to rush to…

….and when i got up this morning it was clear i was treated to the most stunning sunrise over the beagle channel… (there are no beagles in the beagle channel and the bastard penguins buggered off for warmer climes before i got here….). . the place is stunning, the scenery breathtaking and the weather has subsequently been changing on an hourly basis …. when i went up to the glacier I got caught in a bit of a blizzard… (hence the frozen arse)… and at the moment I am holed up in a nice mountain refuge having a sup of the local microbrew before meandering the 7kms back into town…. I could get a taxi but i just want to enjoy the view for as long as possibe so that it etches itself on my memory (the photos dont do it justice) because i don’t know whether i will ever get the opportunity to come back here…..

2 Comments

  1. Mike

    Great travel writing! Sure you weren’t a journo in a previous life? Keep the blog going!

Leave a Reply

