comment 0

The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner….

World Duathlon Championships – Paraduathlon – Gijon 2011

… has always been a favourite phrase of my Dad and it often comes to mind when I am photographing triathletes.  Away from the finish line and the cheering crowds there is a long hard slog, of usually fairly monotonous cityscape to get through, with only a handful of spectators clapping along.  I don’t know why but I am drawn to these shots as opposed to the ‘glory’ shots.

This style of photo formed the basis of my submission to this years Sony World Photography Awards.  Competition is fierce and I don’t expect anything to come from it, but If nothing else it made me focus on editing my images right down.

Leave a Reply

